NVIFF Nominees

The NVIFF Awards was held on Thursday the 26th of September 2019 in Amsterdam The Netherlands. The event begins at 17:00 and end at 24:00. NVIFF will host red carpet press interviews, awards and network events. The Award ceremony will be aired on TV.


Best American Actress Erica Peeples – Fall Girls
Best American Actor Kristos Andrews – A Place Called Hollywood
Best European Actress Véronique Picciotto – The Role Of A Lifetime 
Best European Actor Andre Dongelmans – De Luizenmoeder
Best Asian Actress Truong Ngoc Anh – Abduction
Best Asian Actor Wang Xun – Save Your Soul
Best African Actress Nqobile Nunu Khumalo – Scandal
Best African Actor Pallance Dladla – Shadow
Best American Film The Stone in the River
Best European Film Into the Mirror
Best Asian Feature Film Wild Chrysanthemum
Best Asian Short Film I’m here
Best African Film King of Boys
Best Australian Film The Hunted
Best Director Kate Bohan – Kayla
Best Producer John Yiu & Kenny Chan – Million Loves in Me
Best Cinematographer Joey Durango – Katia
Best Screenplay Death Fences – Ron Chepesiuk

Best Documentary Feature My Hometown Across The Ocean
Best Documentary Short Life is What You Make It
Best Music Video Boing Boing – Lauwtje
Best Short Drama Sydney
Best Short Romance/ Comedy Fingernail Moon
Best Animation Killing Anabella
Best Webseries Abracadavers
Best Experimental Six Days of Sistine
Best Short Experimental Mother 
Best Talent Dewi Reijs – Buddy Film Project
Best Content Creator Katie Sheridan & Ian Diaz
Life Time Achievement Award John Leerdam
Life Time Achievement Award Kira Reed Lorsch
Life Time Achievement Award Esmee de la Bretoniere 
Life Time Achievement Award Arnie Breeveld
Life Time Achievement Award Sola Sobowale
Life Time Achievement Award Jean St. James
Life Time Achievement Award Helen Kamperveen

Nominee List

Best American Actress

Erica Peeples
Kira Reed Lorsch
Briana White
Carolyn Michel
Alexandra Miller
Kayla Bohan
Jean St. James
Catherine Carlen

Best American Actor

Kristos Andrews
Aric Cushing
Michael Pugliese
Robert Amstler
Richard Wagner
Igor Lewicki
Marco Zappala
Alan Ritchson

Best European Actress

Katie Sheridan
Sophie van Winden
Johanna Smitz
Nurcan Şirin
Véronique Picciotto
Emily Laing
Eleanor Burke
Julia Strassmann

Best European Actor

Henry Lewis
Keith Large
Vincent Rietveld
Jeroen Vreijsen
John Sackville
Jamie Bacon
Einar Kuusk
André Dongelmans

Best Asian Actress

Esha Deol
Ruby Yap
Truong Ngoc Anh
Zhao Siyuan
Cenzi Xu
Hairong Tian

Best Asian Actor

Hiro Hayama
Karthik Jayaram
Nico Antonio
Jim Liu
Raymond Francisco
Joel Saracho
Wang Xun
Shen Hao

Best African Actress

Nancy Isime
Kate Henshaw
Nqobile Nunu Khumalo
Nikki Samonas
Meg Otanwa
Sola Sobowale
Mercy Johnson Okojie
Jamila Awad

Best African Actor

Pallance Dladla
Mduduzi Mabaso
Khathu Ramabulana
Prince David Osei
Segun Arinze
Frankincense Eche-Ben
Mpho Osei-Tutu

Best American Film

Shot To The Heart
One Tiny Seed

Best European Film

Into The Spiral
The Burning Red
Built to Be
Through a Dark Mirror
Into the Mirror

Best Asian Feature Film

News From Fukushima
Silence Snow
Wild Chrysanthemum
The Commitment
Save Your Soul
Lover Comrade
There is no excuse for sin
Boundless Love

Best Asian Short Film

Birthday Night
I’m here.
Cactus Facing The Sun

Best African Film

ZOE – Loud Silence Series
Bad Luck Joe
4th Republic
King of Boys
Born in Gambia
Being Annabel
Facing North
The Reunion

Best Latin American Film

The Stone In The River
It comes from the Heavens
2 (Two)
Whispers Of The Wing
A Step Behind
Paper Boats
Ted and Hanna

Best Australian Film

The Undying Swan
The Hunted
The Twist
The Hunted
Naresh Kumar The Man in Sandals

Best Documentary Feature

As It Happened
Soran – Manbij Offensive
My Hometown across the Ocean
New Dreams for a New World
The Space – Theatre of Survival
Freedom must not die at sea
The 1001 lives of Sir R. F. Burton
Remembering: The Maurits Kiek Story

Best Documentary Short

Life is What You Make It
Burning Man : The Build
Black Orchards
Big Lies
The Coffin
Ballerina A One Woman Play Film
Oxford Through the Lens
The Conqueror

Best Director

Brian Huckeba
Naida Joanides
Kate Bohan
Dinar Deshpande
Igor Lewicki
Kexian Li
Lu Jian
Kang Jiaxiang

Best Producer

John Yiu & Kenny Chan
Keith Large
Brian Huckeba & Aric Cushing
Naida Joanides & Dino Medeiros
Joey Durango
Phil McCarron
Lixin Xie
Kang Yan

Best Cinematographer

Rikash Bobby Gobardhan
Jeroen Kiers
Kevin Vidal
Steven Elbers
Alwin Ritstier
Joey Durango
Kristina Hyland
Jalil Landell Valdivia

Best Screenplay

We Built Castles
Shot To The Heart
Death Fences
Paradise, My Ass
Time Line

Best Music Video

Ewa Ewa
Alles Designer
Money Monica
Boing Boing
Champion Lover

Best Music Video Director

Paperclips Media
Jonas Beck
Joris Weerts
Victor Ponten
Tim Ro
Eric Zwiers
Set Vexy Productions
Rockstone Creatives

Best Short Drama

Moving On
Portrait of a Lamb
Echoes in Silence
Ghosts in the Ink
The Role Of A Lifetime
I am sorry

Best Short Romance/ Comedy

Fingernail Moon
Mental Facade
Greater Fool
Do It Yourself
A Date With Shillelagh

Best Animation

Killing Anabella
A Moonlights Tale
Zog: The First Feminist
Where the Jungle Ends

Best Experimental

The Fire Within
Hollow Pond
Six Days of Sistine
Maria’s Silence
Tierkreis, a music fashion film

Best Short Experimental

SOS Poseidon
The Land of the Gods
The Dark Desire
AVE Variation #7

Best Talent

Dewi Reijs
Sherefa Yorks
Giefa Sparkle
Cheyenne Toney

Best Webseries

Holy Popcorn
Quantum Earth 
Soul Undertow
Rebecca Gold

Lifetime Achievement Award

John Leerdam
Esmee de la Bretoniere
Kira Reed Lorsch
Jean St. James 
Arnie Breeveld 
Sola Sobowale 


Public Choice Award
Kayla Bohan